## **Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Fund**

## **Split Payments to State Governments**

## **December 16, 2021**

Under the Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Fund, Treasury has the authority to split funding into two equal payments for States and territories. Specifically:

The Secretary shall have the authority to withhold payment of up to 50 percent of the amount allocated to each State and territory (other than payment of the amount allocated under paragraph (3)(B)(ii) to the District of Columbia) for a period of up to 12 months from the date on which the State or territory provides the certification required under subsection (d)(1). The Secretary shall exercise such authority with respect to a State or territory based on the unemployment rate in the State or territory as of such date.

Based on this provision, Treasury will split the total amount of state funding into two equal payments for all State governments, except for States where the unemployment rate is 2.0 or more percentage points above its pre-pandemic level. For further discussion of Treasury's rationale for exercising the authority and setting the threshold, see the Interim Final Rule.<sup>1</sup>

The table below lists which State governments have received split payments (for States that have already certified).

State	Subject to split?	State	Subject to split?	State	Subject to split?
Alabama	Yes	Kentucky	Yes	North Dakota	No
Alaska	Yes	Louisiana	No	Ohio	Yes
Arizona	Yes	Maine	Yes	Oklahoma	Yes
Arkansas	Yes	Maryland	No	Oregon	No
California	No	Massachusetts	No	Pennsylvania	No
Colorado	No	Michigan	Yes	Rhode Island	No
Connecticut	No	Minnesota	Yes	South Carolina	No
Delaware	No	Mississippi	Yes	South Dakota	Yes
Dist. of Columbia	No	Missouri	Yes	Tennessee	Yes
Florida	Yes	Montana	Yes	Texas	No
Georgia	Yes	Nebraska	Yes	Utah	Yes
Hawaii	No	Nevada	No	Vermont	Yes
Idaho	Yes	New Hampshire	Yes	Virginia	No
Illinois	No	New Jersey	No	Washington	Yes
Indiana	Yes	New Mexico	No	West Virginia	Yes
Iowa	Yes	New York	No	Wisconsin	Yes
Kansas	Yes	North Carolina	Yes	Wyoming	Yes

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> As discussed in the Interim Final Rule, no territory will receive a split payment.