

## **GOVERNORS ROSTER 2021**

## GOVERNORS' POLITICAL AFFILIATIONS & TERMS OF OFFICE

State/ Jurisdiction	Governor	Present Term Began	Present Term Ends	Previous Terms	Maximum Consecutive Terms
Alabama	Kay Ivey (R)	1-19	1-23	1 (j)	2
Alaska	Mike Dunleavy (R)	12-18	12-22		2
American Samoa	Lemanu P.S. Mauga (D)	1-21	1-25		2
Arizona	Doug Ducey (R)	1-19	1-23	1	2
Arkansas	Asa Hutchinson (R)	1-19	1-23	1	2
California	Gavin Newsom (D)	1-19	1-23		2
Colorado	Jared Polis (D)	1-19	1-23		2
Connecticut	Ned Lamont (D)	1-19	1-23		_
Delaware	John Carney (D)	1-21	1-25	1	2 (a)
Florida	Ron DeSantis (R)	1-19	1-23		2
Georgia	Brian Kemp (R)	1-19	1-23		2
Guam	Lou Leon Guerrero (D)	1-19	1-23		2
Hawaii	David Ige (D)	12-18	12-22	1	2
Idaho	Brad Little (R)	1-19	1-23		_
Illinois	JB Pritzker (D)	1-19	1-23		_
Indiana	Eric Holcomb (R)	1-21	1-25	1	2 (b)
Iowa	Kim Reynolds (R)	1-19	1-23	1 (k)	<del>- (-)</del>
Kansas	Laura Kelly (D)	1-19	1-23	1 (11)	2
Kentucky	Andy Beshear (D)	12-19	12-23		2
Louisiana	John Bel Edwards (D)	1-20	1-24	1	2
Maine	Janet Mills (D)	1-19	1-23	-	2
Maryland	Larry Hogan (R)	1-19	1-23	1	2
Massachusetts	Charlie Baker (R)	1-19	1-23	1	<del>-</del>
Michigan	Gretchen Whitmer (D)	1-19	1-23	1	2
Minnesota	Tim Walz (D)	1-19	1-23		<del>-</del>
Mississippi	Tate Reeves (R)	1-20	1-24		2
Missouri	Mike Parson (R)	1-21	1-25	1 (1)	$\frac{2}{2}$
Montana	Greg Gianforte (R)	1-21	1-25	1 (1)	2 (c)
Nebraska	Pete Ricketts (R)	1-19	1-23	1	2 (b)
Nevada	Steve Sisolak (D)	1-19	1-23	1	2
New Hampshire	Chris Sununu (R)	1-21	1-23 (d)	2	
New Jersey	Phil Murphy (D)	1-18	1-23 (d) 1-22	2	2
New Mexico	Michelle Lujan Grisham (D)	1-19	1-23		2
New York	Kathy Hochul (D)	8-21(o)	1-23		
North Carolina	Roy Cooper (D)	1-21	1-25		2
North Dakota	Doug Burgum (R)	12-20	12-24		<u>-</u>
Northern Mariana Is.	Ralph Deleon Guerrero Torres (R)	1-19	1-23	1 (g)	2 (a)
Ohio	Mike DeWine (R)	1-19	1-23	1 (g)	2 (a) 2 (b)
Oklahoma	Kevin Stitt (R)	1-19	1-23		
Oregon	Kate Brown (D)	1-19	1-23	1 (h)	2 2
Pennsylvania	Tom Wolf (D)	1-19	1-23	1 (11)	2
Puerto Rico	Pedro Pierluisi (PNP)	1-19	1-25	1	
Rhode Island	Dan McKee (D)	2-21(m)	1-23		2 2
South Carolina	Henry McMaster (R)	1-19	1-23	1 (i)	2
South Dakota	Kristi Noem (R)	1-19	1-23	1 (1)	2
Tennessee	Bill Lee (R)	1-19	1-23		2
Texas	Greg Abbott (R)	1-19	1-23	1	_
Utah	Spencer Cox (R)	1-19	1-25	1	_
Vermont	Phil Scott (R)	1-21	1-23 (d)	2	_
Virgin Islands	Albert Bryan (D)	1-21 1-19	1-23 (d) 1-23	<u> </u>	2 (b)
Virgin Islands Virginia	Ralph Northam (D)	1-19	1-23		(e)
Washington	Jay Inslee (D)	1-18	1-25	2	(6)
West Virginia	Jay Insiee (D)  Jim Justice (R)	1-21	1-25 1-25	2 1	2
Wisconsin	Tony Evers (D)	1-19	1-23	1	<u> </u>
Wyoming	Mark Gordon (R)	1-19	1-23		2
w younng	Mark Gordon (K)	1-17	1-23		<u>L</u>

(See notes on back page)

## Party Breakdown

State Governors: 27 Republican, 23 Democrat

Territory and Commonwealth Governors: 1 Republican, 3 Democrat, 1 PNP

All Governors: 28 Republican, 26 Democrat, 1 PNP

## **NOTES**

Democrat (D), Independent (I), Republican (R), New Progressive Party of Puerto Rico (PNP)

\*Note: This column serves to indicate if a governor has completed any prior gubernatorial service (whether by succession, appointment or election to a partial or complete term of office). The notes below clarify the parameters of a governor's term(s) in office. Please consult the election code of each state to determine if a governor is eligible to serve additional terms in office.

- a) Absolute two-term limitation.
- b) After two consecutive terms as governor, the candidate must wait four years before becoming eligible to run again. c) Limit of eight years of service out of every 16 years.
- d) Two-year term.
- e) Governor cannot serve immediate successive terms but may be elected to non-consecutive terms.
- g) Northern Mariana Islands Lt. Gov. Ralph Deleon Guerrero Torres became governor on December 29, 2015, completing the unexpired term of Gov. Eloy Inos following his death.
- h) Oregon Secretary of State Kate Brown became governor on February 18, 2015, following Gov. John Kitzhaber's resignation. Gov. Brown won a special gubernatorial election held in November 2016 to complete Gov. Kitzhaber's unexpired term.
- South Carolina Lt. Gov. Henry McMaster became governor on January 24, 2017, following Gov. Nikki Haley's appointment as U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations.
- i) Alabama Lt. Gov. Kay Ivey became governor on April 10, 2017, following the resignation of Governor Robert Bentley.
- k) Iowa Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds became governor on May 24, 2017, following Gov. Terry Branstad's appointment as U.S. Ambassador to China.
- 1) Missouri Lt. Gov. Mike Parson became governor on June 1, 2018, following the resignation of Governor Eric Greitens.
- m) Rhode Island Lt. Gov. Dan McKee became governor on March 2, 2021, following Gov. Gina Raimondo's appointment as U.S. Secretary of Commerce.
- o) New York Lt. Gov. Kathy Hochul became governor on August 24, 2021, following the resignation of Governor Andrew Cuomo

For biographies and the most up-to-date information on governors, visit the National Governors Association website: <a href="https://www.nga.org/governors">www.nga.org/governors</a>.

Revised August, 2021



Hall of the States 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267 Washington, D.C. 20001-1512

Phone: 202/ 624-5300 | Fax: 202/ 624-5313 www.nga.org