

AN COMUNN GAIDHEALACH Meur Inbhir Nis – Inverness Branch

MINUTES OF 2017 AGM held on 7th November 2017 at 7.30pm in Balnain House, 40 Huntly Street, Inverness

1. Welcome

Norman Mackay welcomed all present.

2. Attendance

Mary Macleod, Donald N Macleod, Allan Campbell, Murdina Mackay, Cathie Anne Macdonald, Andrew Mackenzie, Seonag Anderson, Ross Brindle, Janet MacGregor, Norman Mackay, Chrisanne Robertson, Karen Elder, Adrian Moody.

3. Apologies

Jean Mackay, Calum Alex Macmillan, John Morrison, Ceitidh Campbell, Marlene Yule.

4. Minutes of 2016 AGM

The Minutes of the 2016 AGM were approved following amendment(s):

- Donald N Macleod indicated that he would be standing down as Treasurer but would continue until new Treasurer was appointed.
- Alan Marr would be standing down as Financial Examiner.

Proposed: Seonag Anderson Seconded: Cathie Anne Macdonald

5. <u>Matters Arising from these Minutes</u>

There were no matters arising from the minutes.

6. Reports

a) Secretary/Chairperson

The Secretary's report was included in the Chair's report and is associated with this minute.

Our Secretary Marlene Yule was thanked for her work during the year.

b) Treasurer

The Treasurer provided the meeting with a written report.

He indicated that higher bills for medals and Adjudicator fees contributed to slightly higher Provincial Mod costs. Non-recurring cost were also mentioned.

Overall the Financial figures were very good and augured well for the immediate future. The chair thanked Donald N Macleod for his report.

c) Provincial Mod Secretary

Ross Brindle provided the meeting with a written report and is associated with this minute. Ross responded to several questions

The chair thanked Ross and Norma Christie for their excellent efforts as Provincial Mod Secretary(s).

The chair also thanked all the Committee and volunteers that had contributed to the preparation and successful running of the event.

7. Election of Office Bearers

Chairperson: Norman Mackay Proposed: Seonag Anderson

Seconded: Janet MacGregor

There were no further nominations and Norman Mackay was duly elected.

Vice Chairperson: Allan Campbell Proposed: Janet MacGregor

Seconded: Cathie Anne Macdonald

There were no further nominations and Allan Campbell was duly elected.

Secretary: Andrew Mackenzie Proposed: Seonag Anderson

Seconded: Allan Campbell

There were no further nominations and Andrew Mackenzie was duly elected.

Treasurer: Karen Elder Proposed: Seonag Anderson

Seconded: Norman Mackay

There were no further nominations and Karen Elder was duly elected.

Provincial Mod Secretary: Ross Brindle Proposed: Allan Campbell

Seconded: Janet macGregor

There were no further nominations and Ross Brindle was duly elected.

Provincial Mod Asst. Secretary: Norma Christie Proposed: Allan Campbell

Seconded: Janet MacGregor

There were no further nominations and Norma Christie was duly elected.

Accounts Examiner: Donald N Macleod Proposed: Norman Mackay

Seconded: Allan Campbell

There were no further nominations and Donald N Macleod was duly elected.

(Chairperson indicated that Jean Mackay had indicated that she would not be available for Committee but would continue to help with the Meur Inbhir Nis Provincial Mod event).

Committee Members: Chrisanne Robertson Proposed: Janet MacGregor

Seconded: Murdina Mackay

Adrian Moody Proposed: Norman Mackay

Seconded: Ross Brindle

Marlene Yule Proposed: Ross Brindle

Seconded: Allan Campbell

It was agreed to accept nominations for all other current Committee members subject to their acceptance. Alasdair Elder, Kate Maclean, Murdina Mackay, Janet MacGregor, Seonag Anderson, Ceitidh Campbell, and Cathie Anne Macdonald

Proposed: Norman Mackay Seconded: Murdina Mackay

9) <u>AOCB</u>

1. **2018 Inbhir Nis Provincial Mod 2018 –** The Inverness Common Good Fund has awarded up to £3500 for this year only.

The Financial Bid was also for both National Mod 2020 and Inverness Provincial Mods 2019/2020 and this is still to be addressed and meetings are to be arranged.

The committee and volunteers were thanked for all their help during the past year.

The Chairperson thanked everybody for their attendance.

Meeting closed at 8.30pm.