

Media Contact: Tina Menditto The Menditto Group Tel: 305-546-3289

ORANGE BOWL INTERNATIONAL YOUTH REGATTA FINISHES STRONG DESPITE WEATHER

MIAMI, FL (December 31, 2013) - Young sailors from around the globe traveled to South Florida for the 68th Annual Orange Bowl International Youth Regatta (OBIYR), which took place on Biscayne Bay in Coconut Grove this past weekend. The four day sailing event from December 27th through December 30th took place amid soggy conditions but went off without a hitch.

One of the largest dinghy regattas for sailors ages eight to 18 in the world, the OBIYR was held at the Coral Reef Yacht Club (CRYC) in Coconut Grove, with support from the U.S. Sailing Center Miami, Lauderdale Yacht Club, Biscayne Bay Yacht Club and Shake-A-Leg Miami. This year's event boasted 689 competitors from 27 states and 23 countries - the farthest being the Czech Republic.

The four days of competition featured several types of vessels: Optimists, Lasers (Full, Radial, and 4.7), and Club 420s. Platinum sponsors for the event included: the Orange Bowl Committee, McLaughlin, Sperry Top-Sider, and KO Sailing. Awards were distributed to the top sailors in each vessel category by government officials, Orange Bowl Committee leaders and Olympians including Magnus Liljedahl, a former U.S gold medalist who presented this year's Magnus Liljedahl Sportsmanship Award. <u>This year's top local Opti sailor, Ivan Shestopalov</u> <u>from Coral Reef Yacht Club, was presented with a trophy sponsored by the</u> <u>Coconut Grove Business Improvement District.</u>

Awards recipients in each category are as follows:

Optimist White Fleet (1st Place- Mia Nicolosi from St. Thomas Yacht Club; 2nd Place -Bella Casaretto from Lauderdale Yacht Club; 3rd Place- Chapman Petersen from SailStrong Youth Racing/Lake Geneva Yacht Club; 4th Place – Clark Samuel from Key Biscayne Yacht Club; 5th Place – Justin Callahan from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 6th Place – Lars Kunath from CCSP/LISOT; 7th Place – Jake Mayol from Southern California/Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club; 8th Place – Mitchell Callahan from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 9th Place - Liam O'Keefe from Coral Reef Yacht Club; and 10th Place – Abby Childerley from RSYC).

Optimist Blue Fleet (1st Place Dylan Ascencios from Lakewood Yacht Club; 2nd Place – Luke Arnone from CERT; 3rd Place – Shelley Ripley from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 4th Place – Fabian Magnusson from ROSS; 5th Place – Zane Rogers from Lakewood Yacht Club; 6th Place – Simon Gomez from Columbia; 7th Place – Rayne Duff from Caribbean Mix/Royal BVI Yacht Club; 8th Place – Thomas Hill from LISOT; 9th Place – Luca Contessi from CNMP; and 10th Place – Stefano Viale from Lima Peru).

Optimist Red Fleet (1st Place – Ivan Shestopalov from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 2nd Place – Ian Moran from Coral Reef Yacht Club/Edgewater Yacht Club; 3rd Place – Santiago Duncan from Club de Velas Rosario; 4th Place – Thomas Rice from SailStrong/Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club; 5th Place – J.C. Hermus from Sail Strong; 6th Place – Teddy Nicolosi from St. Thomas Yacht Club; 7th Place – Matt Logue from Riverside Yacht Club/LISOT; 8th Place – Shane Riera from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 9th Place – Cameron Giblin from LISOT/SSYC; and 10th Place – Jacob Ahlers from MSC).

<u>Optimist Overall - Red, White and Blue Fleets</u> (1st Place – Ivan Shestopalov from Coral Reef Yacht Club; Ian Moran from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 3rd Place – Santiago Duncan from Club de Velas Rosario; 4th Place – Thomas Rice from SailStrong/Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club; 5th Place – J.C. Hermus from Sail Strong; 6th Place – Teddy Nicolosi from St. Thomas Yacht Club; 7th Place – Matt Logue from Riverside Yacht Club/LISOT; 8th Place – Shane Riera from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 9th Place – Cameron Giblin from LISOT/SSYC; and 10th Place – Dylan Ascencios from Lakewood Yacht Club).

Top Overall Female Sailor: Olivia Belda from CCSP/LISOT

Optimist Green Fleet: (1st Place – Javier Garcon – Key Biscayne Yacht Club; 2nd Place – Griffin Clark from Key Biscayne Yacht Club; 3rd Place – Stephan Baker from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 4th Pace – Emily Mueller from Key Biscayne Yacht Club; 5th Place – Peter Joslin from Southern California/Balboa Yacht Club; 6th Place – Scott Mueller from Lakewood Yacht Club; 7th Place – John Franco from Lakewood Yacht Club; 8th Place – Charles Allen from Cayman Island Yacht Club; 9th Place – Jacques Rive form Coconut Grove Sailing Club, and 10th Place – Monique Hernandez from Cayman Island Yacht Club).

420 Top Ten Finishers (1st Place Skipper - Gabriel Elstrodt/Crew - Philipp Essle from YCSA Brazil; 2nd Place Skipper - Scott Sinks/Crew - Rebecca McElvain from San Diego Yacht Club; 3rd Place Skipper – Campbell D' Eliscu/Crew – Katie Calder from Newport Harbour Yacht Club; 4th Place Skipper – Matthew Kaplan/Crew-Sean Walsh from Larchmont Yacht Club/American Yacht Club/LISOT; 5th Place Skipper – Martina Sly/Crew – Jamie Craven from Coral Reef Yacht Club; 6th Place Skipper – Augie Dale/Crew – Macey Ann McCann from LISOT/Pewaukee Yacht Club/Texas Corinthian Yacht Club; 7th Place Skipper - Andy Reiter/Crew – Charlie Miller from SDYC; 8th Place Skipper – Ty Ingram/Crew- John Sipp from LISOT/Larchmont Yacht Club; 9th Place Skipper – Rose Edwards/Crew- Katherine Jones from Chicago Yacht Club; and 10th Place Skipper – Thomas Walden/Crew – William Hundahl from St. Thomas Yacht Club).

Top All Girl Team: Skipper - Rose Edwards and Crew - Katherine Jones from Chicago Yacht Club.

Laser 4.7: (1st Place - Skipper Alexander Boite from S.R. Havre; 2nd Place - Skipper Pablo Berttran from Cayman Islands Sailing Club; 3rd Place - Skipper Gage Wilson from Edison Sailing Center; 4th Place – Skipper Paige Clarke from DWST/St. Thomas Yacht Club; and 5th Place – Skipper Abigail Affoo from Trinidad and Tobago Yacht and Sailing Club and Sailing Association).

Laser Full: (1st Place – Skipper Erik Weis from Lauderdale Yacht Club; 2nd Place-Skipper Richard Didham from San Diego Yacht Club; 3rd Place – Skipper Clay Broussard from Lakewood Yacht Club; 4th Place – Skipper Matt Long from Santa Barbara/Cabrillo Beach Yacht Club; and 5th Place – Skipper Thomson Butcher from C-Vane/Texas Corinthian Yacht Club).

<u>Laser Radial</u>: (1st Place – Skipper Luke Muller from Lauderdale Yacht Club; 2nd Place – Skipper William Marshall from FAST Sailing Foundation; 3rd Place – Skipper Malcolm Lamphere from C-Vane Sailing Team/Lake Geneva Yacht Club/Chicago Yacht Club/Lake Forest Sailing; 4th Place – Skipper Andrew Puopolo from Marsh Creek Sailing Club; 5th Place – Skipper Addison Hackstaff from St. Petersburg Yacht Club; 6th Place – Skipper Haddon Huges from TCYC; 7th Place – Skipper Henry Marshall from FAST Sailing Foundation; 8th Place – Skipper Jack Marshall from FAST Sailing Foundation; 9th Place – Skipper Nic Baird from St. Petersburg Yacht Club; and 10th Place – Skipper Colin Brego from St. John).

Laser Radial Female: (1st Place – Skipper Haddon Hughes from TCYC; 2nd Place – Skipper Dana Rohde from Lauderdale Yacht Club, Beaufort Yacht and Sailing; 3rd Place – Skipper Lindsey Baab from San Francisco Yacht Club/St. Francis Yacht Club; 4th Place – Skipper Riley Legault from LYC; and 5th Place – Skipper Sophia Reineke from Lauderdale Yacht Club).

Staging for the four day regatta took place at several locations including the CRYC, Biscayne Bay Yacht Club, U.S. Sailing Center Miami, and Shake-A-Leg Miami. For more information or to view video and photos from the event, please visit <u>www.coralreefyachtclub.org</u>.

###