

# National Coordinating Group elections 2020 Summary of results

There are 20 member representatives on the NCG, including 4 from each of the 5 regional divisions:

- 4 positions from the North West and Wales
- 4 positions from the Midlands and the East
- 4 positions from the South East and South West
- 4 positions from London
- 4 positions from Yorkshire, Scotland, the North East and International

In addition there are 4 places elected among Momentum members who are Labour Public Office Holders.

#### <u>London</u>

Sonali Bhattacharyya [ELECTED]	1382
Deborah Hermanns [ELECTED]	1302
Mick Moore [ELECTED]	1156
Ana Oppenheim [ELECTED]	1105
Chardine Taylor Stone	929
Lewis Baker	692
Aghileh Djafari-Marbini	664
Seema Chandwani	664
Urte Macikene	359
Syed Siddiqi	310
Ruth Cashman	245
Marcel Golten	238

#### Midlands and East

Andrew Scattergood [ELECTED]	1018
Mish Rahman [ELECTED]	952
Solma Ahmed [ELECTED]	918
Abbie Clark [ELECTED]	843
Huda Elmi	651
Laura McAlpine	548
Sonya Ward	408
Dan Roberts	377

### North West and Wales

Alan Gibbons [ELECTED]	951
Tracey Hylton [ELECTED]	932
Harriet Protheroe-Soltani	
[ELECTED]	877
Charlie Bollaan [ELECTED]	853
Lotte Boumelha	779
Jaz Duncan-Rees	721
Matthew Brown	703
Lawrence Dunne	647

## South East and South West

Darran McLaughlin [ELECTED]	999
Shona Jemphrey [ELECTED]	968
Jennifer Forbes [ELECTED]	926
Phil Clarke [ELECTED]	901
Jabu Nala-Hartley	665
Sarah Cundy	546
Max Shanly	479
Martin Menear	421
Zaid Marham	187
Jordan Hartley	152

### Yorkshire, North East, Scotland and International

Gaya Sriskanthan [ELECTED]	1009
Rory Maclean [ELECTED]	935
Callum Bell [ELECTED]	923
Liz Smith [ELECTED]	886
Aneesa Akbar	565
Matt Kerr	508
Leeann Clarkson	404
Dave Aldwinkle	368
Andy Young	200
Chloe Hopkins	183
Kas Witana	165

## Public Office Holders' section

Jon Trickett [ELECTED]	164
Leigh Drennan [ELECTED]	146

Sarah Doyle [ELECTED]	144
Emine Ibrahim [ELECTED]	140
Nadia Whittome	129
Jamie Driscoll	116
Christine Howard	108
Barrie Margetts	95

# Outline of process

Candidates were required to gain a minimum 20 valid nominations in order to progress to the One Member One Vote stage.

Balloting ran from 16<sup>th</sup> to the 30<sup>th</sup> of June, using the Multiple Non-Transferable Vote system, which is the system used for local council elections in England. This is a non-preference based system, meaning voters were able to put a cross by four candidates' names, without ordering them by number.

Each ballot was protected by a unique code in order to guarantee the security of the ballot.

Turnout was 8580 eligible voters.

Scrutineering was overseen by the Returning Officer. Invitations to attend were extended to representatives of all the campaigns and a number of NCG members, who were then supplied with encrypted copies of the raw vote to allow subsequent verification of the published results.

Our constitution states that at least two of the members elected from each division should be women, and at least one should self-identify as BAME (Black, Asian, ethnic minority). If the 20 members who are elected do not include one person who self-identifies as disabled, one person who self-identifies as LGBT+ and three young persons under 30, then up to 4 more places will be elected to ensure these groups are represented. However, since all of these requirements were satisfied by the raw results, no further adjustments or additional elections are necessary.

The Returning Officer was Tony Kearns.