Awards

Democracy Now! host Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez have won numerous awards including:

Right Livelihood Award, 2008

Personal Courage and Social Transformation: Independent Grassroots Political Journalism

Park Center for Independent Media's Izzy Award, 2009

Special achievement in independent media

ACLU-NCA Henry W. Edgerton Civil Liberties Award, 2008

Distinguished Career as an Active Defender and Supporter of Civil Liberties

Gracie Award for American Women in Radio and Television Public Broadcasting, 2007

Individual Achievement for Outstanding Program Host

James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism, 2007

Career Achievement

Webby Award Honoree, 2007

Podcasts and Politics

Puffin/Nation Prize for Creative Citizenship, 2006

Groundbreaking Reporting

Ruben Salazar Journalism Award

Outstanding Commitment to Preserving the Integrity of Journalism

George Polk Award

Radio Reporting

Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Prize

First Place, International Radio Documentary

Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award

Excellence in Broadcast Journalism

Edwin H. Major Armstrong Award

Best Radio Documentary

National Federation of Community Broadcasters

Golden Reels (several, including Best National News Story 2003)

Project Censored Award

Most Censored Story

Society of Professional Journalists

Best Investigative Reporting, Award for Excellence, Series/Investigative Reporting

United Press International

Best Radio Feature

Associated Press

Best Enterprise Reporting

Electronic Frontier Foundation

Pioneer Award

American Women in Radio & Television

Pinnacle Award for Radio Programming

National Catholic Association of Broadcasters

Best Documentary, Best Religious Documentary

Radio/Television News Directors Association

Regional News Series/Documentary Award

Alliance for Community Media

Best Nationally Distributed Program

