1 Australia Day

Senator Siewert, pursuant to notice of motion not objected to as a formal motion, moved general business notice of motion no. 1318—That the Senate—

- (a) notes that:
 - (i) on 26 January 1788, the First Fleet arrived at Port Jackson, and Arthur Phillip raised the Union Jack on the land of the Eora nation,
 - (ii) this is now recognised by many Australians as an invasion that had catastrophic and tragic consequences for the peoples and nations who had lived here for many tens of thousands of years, and for their descendants, and
 - (iii) 26 January 2019 marks over 230 years' of on-going dispossession and colonisation for First Nations peoples;
- (b) acknowledges that by continuing to celebrate Australia on 26 January we ignore the truth about our shared history;
- (c) urges all Australians to respectfully engage in conversations about changing the date of Australia Day; and
- (d) calls on the Federal Government to engage and consult with First Nations peoples about changing the date of Australia Day, so that all Australians can participate in celebrating this national day.

Statement by leave: Senator Chisholm, by leave, made a statement relating to the motion.

Question put.

The Senate divided—

AYES, 10

Senators—	M-Win.	C41- I-1	W /-4
Di Natale	McKim	Steele-John	Waters
Faruqi	Rice	Storer	Whish-Wilson
Hanson-Young	Siewert*		
	NOES, 4	11	
Senators—	NOES,	†1	
Abetz	Duniam	Leyonhjelm	Pratt
Bilyk	Fierravanti-Wells	Lines	Reynolds
,			,
Brockman	Fifield	McGrath	Ruston
Bushby	Gallacher	McKenzie	Ryan
Cameron	Georgiou	Molan	Scullion
Canavan	Griff	Moore	Smith, David
Carr	Hinch	O'Neill	Sterle
Cash	Hume	O'Sullivan	Stoker
Chisholm	Ketter	Patrick	Urquhart*
Colbeck	Kitching	Polley	Williams
Collins	-		
	+ T II		

* Tellers

Question negatived.