

March 23, 2009

Chairman Don McLeroy Texas State Board of Education 9277 Brookwater Circle College Station, TX 77845

Dear Chairman McLeroy:

We, members of the Texas scientific community, in collaboration with the American Association for the Advancement of Science, encourage you as a member of the State Board of Education to oppose amendments to the draft state science standards that would harm the teaching of science in Texas.

Certain amendments introduced and approved during the January 2009 board meeting would mislead students should they make it into the final standards. For example, an amendment to Biology Section 7 attacks the foundational concept of common ancestry, and revisions to the Earth and Space Science standards introduce unwarranted uncertainty to long-settled scientific issues. These amendments serve only to undermine sound science education in Texas. We would be happy to provide more details on these points.

In rejecting the insertion of language that speaks of the "weaknesses" of evolution into the standards, the Board did the students of Texas a great service. The scientific consensus is that evolution is the backbone of modern biology and many other fields of science, underlying advances in areas such as agriculture and medicine. Downplaying its place in science only serves to confuse students.

Students exposed to a strong science curriculum will undoubtedly be better prepared to compete for high-skill jobs in an increasingly high-tech world economy. We urge you to vote for removing anti-science changes to the draft standards and protect the future of science education and technology-based industry in Texas. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

May Colin

Alan I. Leshner

Chief Executive Officer

AAAS

David E. Daniel, Ph.D. 2009 TAMEST President

President, University of Texas at Dallas

J. Tinsley Oden, Ph.D. 2009 TAMEST Past President Associate Vice President for Research and Director of ICES The University of Texas at Austin

Francisco G. ligarron

Francisco G. Cigarroa, M.D. 2009 TAMEST Vice President Chancellor University of Texas System

Daniel W. Foster

Daniel W. Foster, M.D. 2007 TAMEST President John Denis McGarry, Ph.D. Distinguished Chair in Diabetes and Metabolic Research The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

William R. Brinkley

William R. Brinkley, Ph.D. 2009 TAMEST Secretary Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Senior Vice President for Graduate Sciences Baylor College of Medicine

John Mendelsohn, M.D. 2009 TAMEST Treasurer President

The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Or Beach

Arthur L. Beaudet, M.D. TAMEST Board Member Professor and Chairman Department of Molecular and Human Genetics Baylor College of Medicine

Mr. Kenneth E. Arnold, P.E. TAMEST Board Member

President K. Arnold Consulting, Inc.

Paul F. Barbara, Ph.D. TAMEST Board Member Richard J.V. Johnson-Welch Regents Chair

in Chemistry

The University of Texas at Austin

Allen J. Bard, Ph.D.

Norman Hackerman/Welch Regents' Chair in Chemistry

The University of Texas at Austin

obert Curl

Robert F. Curl, Ph.D.

Nobel Laureate

Kenneth S. Pitzer-Schlumberger Professor of Natural Science Emeritus

Rice University

Nancy W. Dickey, M.D.

TAMEST Board Member

President

Texas A&M Health Science Center Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs

Ylaxy W. Duly MD

Texas A&M System

Frun Gaf

Irma Gigli, M.D. Professor of Molecular Medicine

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Scottm. Sundy

Scott M. Grundy, M.D., Ph.D. TAMEST Board Member Professor of Internal Medicine The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas

tagle Hussain

Fazle Hussain, Ph.D. Cullen Dinstinguished Professor Director, Institute of Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence University of Houston

ze. King

James L. Kinsey, Ph.D. TAMEST Board Member Professor Emeritus of Science Rice University

Du Master

Center at San Antonio

Bettie Sue Masters, Ph.D., D.Sc. Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor in Chemistry The University of Texas Health Science

Donald R. Paul, Ph.D. 2006 TAMEST President Ernest Cockrell, Sr. Chair in Engineering The University of Texas at Austin

Senneth Shine MM

Kenneth I. Shine, M.D. Executive Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs The University of Texas System

Max Dumme

Max D. Summers, Ph.D. TAMEST Board Member Distinguished Professor, Endowed Chair in Agricultural Biotechnology Texas A&M University

Richard A. Tapia, Ph.D. TAMEST Board Member University Professor and Maxfield-Oshman Professor in Engineering Director of the Center for Excellence and Equity in Education Rice University

Jamo & Womark

James E. Womack, Ph.D. 2009 TAMEST Board Member Distinguished Professor of Pathobiology Texas A&M University

Ellen S. Vitetta, M.D., Ph.D. TAMEST Board Member Director, Cancer Immunobiology Center

Professor of Microbiology The University of Texas Southwestern

Medical Center at Dallas

Ahuda Tago

Huda Y. Zoghbi, M.D. Professor Baylor College of Medicine Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute