

Founder President Richard Attenborough

President

Bhikhu Parekh

Patrons

Godric Bader Navnit Dholakia Denis Halliday Eirwen Harbottle Martin Polden Diana Schumacher Mark Tully

Executive Committee:

Twisha Chandra

Antony Copley (Academic Adviser)

Graham Davey (Treasurer)

Omar Hayat (Annual Lecture & Peace Award)

Mark Hoda, (Chair)

Trevor Lewis (Summer Gathering)

David Maxwell (Multi-Faith Celebration)

George Paxton (Editor, The Gandhi Way)

Prem Prakash

John Rowley (Patron Liaison)

Shaheen Westcombe (Kingsley Hall Liaison) Peter Tatchell Foundation 14 Marshalsea Road London, SE1 1HL, UK

20 October 2016

It gives me great pleasure to inform you that The Gandhi Foundation Trustees have chosen Peter Tatchell to receive our International Peace Award for 2016.

Peter Tatchell's consistent dedication over many decades and single-minded pursuit in promoting human rights, and LGBT rights in particular, has helped to engender a greater understanding in the public mind of these important issues and created the conditions to allow laws protecting minority groups to be implemented.

He has consistently been at the forefront of progressive movements, from anti-apartheid to Palestinian rights, nuclear disarmament, democratic reforms in the Middle East and campaigns against draconian anti-terror laws in the UK.

He has achieved this through his conviction and non-violent protest, which are the hallmarks of the guiding principles espoused by Mahatma Gandhi.

The Trustees also took into account his personal bravery in confronting prejudice and putting himself sometimes in the way of violent attack but never retaliating violently. He has repeatedly risked arrest and imprisonment for exposing injustice and has been looked upon as a role model by many campaigners for human rights.

He has been able to bring together like minded people to create momentum in promoting human rights issues, both here in the UK and around the world. The work the Peter Tatchell Foundation is doing has helped highlight human rights abuses in the Commonwealth, create dialogue between the LGBT and Muslim communities and speak out against war crimes in Syria, Balochistan and West Papua.

The Gandhi Foundation's Friends, Trustees and Patrons look forward to honouring Peter at the House of Lords and presenting the award on 31^{st} October 2016.

Yours sincerely Best Regards

Dr S Omar Hayat, Trustee Chair of the Peace Award Committee

Annual Lecturers

Paul Blau, Adam Curle, The Dalai Lama, Madhu Dandavate, Scilla Elworthy, David Ennals, Martin Ennals, Johann Galtung, Simon Hughes, John Hume, Bruce Kent, Mairead Maguire, Jonathon Porritt, LM Singhvi, Donald Soper, Helen Steven & Ellen Moxley, Mark Tully, Bhikhu Parekh, Harold Good, Syed Aftab Alam, Anthony Parel, Vince Cable, Dr Navichandra Ramgoolam

Peace Award Recipients

Michael Harbottle, Nicholas Gillett, Jubilee 2000, Denis Halliday, Helen Steven & Ellen Moxley, Clive Stafford Smith, Shabana Azmi, Media Lens, Harold Good & Alex Reid (Northern Ireland Peace Process), *the* Children's Legal Centre, Parents Circle Families Forum, Dr. Binayak Sen & Bulu Imam, Jeremy Corbyn, Godric Bader 'Scott Bader Commonwealth', Tore Naerland 'Bike for Peace'

The Gandhi Foundation

Founded 1983 UK Charity No. 292629

www.gandhifoundation.org contact@gandhifoundation.org Tel: 0845 313 8419 William Rhind, Kingsley Hall, Powis Road, Bromley-by-Bow, London E3 3HJ