## Media Release

The Hon Jenny Mikakos MLC
Minister for Families and Children
Minister for Early Childhood Education
Minister for Youth Affairs



Monday, 26 March, 2018

## RECOGNISING VICTORIA'S EARLY CHILDHOOD HEROES

The Andrews Labor Government is gearing up to celebrate the work of Victoria's childcare sector through the 2018 Victorian Early Years Awards.

Now in its 13<sup>th</sup> year, the awards recognise the best and brightest of those in the early childhood sector and acknowledge the crucial work they do to support our littlest Victorians.

Minister for Early Childhood Education Jenny Mikakos today encouraged early childhood services, professionals and organisations that support children aged up to eight and their families to consider nominating.

The Victorian Early Years Awards span six award categories, including children's health and wellbeing, supporting parents, creating collaborative community partnerships and improving access to early learning.

Victoria's Early Childhood Teacher of the Year is also named, with Rachel Webb from Save the Children's Nowa Nowa Kindergarten in Gippsland taking out the honour last year for her work teaching children, many of them from Aboriginal backgrounds.

In 2018, the inaugural Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler Excellence in Educational Leadership Award will be awarded for the first time, recognising an early childhood service that has significantly improved learning and teaching practices over the past 18 months.

Ms Tayler passed away in December 2017 and was also recently named on the Victorian Honour Roll of Women, in recognition of her distinguished career influencing early childhood policy at both a state and federal level.

Winners in each category will receive between \$10,000 and \$15,000 to go towards their nominated programs or work.

For more details or to nominate for the 2018 Victorian Early Years Awards, visit education.vic.gov.au/veya.

## Quotes attributable to Minister for Early Childhood Education Jenny Mikakos

"Victoria has so many smart, intelligent and dedicated workers in the early childhood space – these awards are an opportunity to recognise their great work and say thanks."

"We're proud to pay tribute to Collette Tayler by naming an award in her honour – she was a fierce advocate of early education and the positive impact of her work continues to be felt."

"I encourage everyone to submit a nomination and share your story, whether it's your own or someone you know."

Media contact: Crys Ja 0434 367 449 | crys.ja@minstaff.vic.gov.au