

The West Australian's Andrew Probyn and Nick Butterly joint winners of the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery journalist of the year award.

The West Australian's Federal Political Editor Andrew Probyn and Federal Political Reporter Nick Butterly have been named the joint winners of the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery Journalist of the Year Award.

Probyn and Butterly entered a series of stories covering the secrecy of asylum seeker boat arrivals and national security.

Several scoops were referred to the Australian Federal Police because of their sensitivity to the Government.

The judges praised Probyn and Butterly as worthy winners from a field of excellent submissions by senior and respected gallery journalists.

"In the judges' view, Probyn and Butterly produced consistently outstanding investigative work, shining a light in areas where it is difficult to glean information," the citation said.

It is the first time Probyn and Butterly have won the prestigious award sponsored by Westpac.

Probyn said the award was recognition for the strong work produced by the newspaper's Canberra bureau and thanked Editor Brett McCarthy and Seven West Media Chairman Kerry Stokes and Seven West Media CEO Tim Worner for their commitment to federal political coverage.

Probyn has been The West Australian's federal political editor since 2005 while Butterly has worked for the newspaper since 2006.