# The text in this section of the Bylaws that is in red should be deleted. The text in green should be added. Text in blue has been changed from the original.

# **Article Three: Members of the Foundation**

## Section 1: Members Defined

There shall be two classes of members: (A) "Listener-Sponsor Members" and (B) "Staff Members", who shall collectively be referred to as "Members."

#### A. LISTENER-SPONSOR MEMBERS

"Listener-Sponsor Members" shall be any natural persons who within the preceding 12-month period: (1) have contributed a minimum of \$35 to any Foundation radio station, or such minimum amount as the Board of Directors may from time to time decide; or (2) have volunteered a minimum of ten (10) hours of service to any Foundation radio station. Said contribution shall be considered non-refundable. Said volunteer work shall be performed under the supervision of the Foundation radio station management, and shall include volunteer work on committees of the Local Station Board. Where a contribution is made jointly by two individuals and the contribution is in an amount equal to or more than the annual membership contribution required for two memberships (as set by the Board from time to time), then each of the joint donors shall be considered an individual and separate Listener-Sponsor Member. (For example, if John and Mary Smith jointly contribute \$70.00 or more, then John Smith and Mary Smith will each be Members and will each have individual and separate Membership rights. However, if John and Mary Smith jointly contribute \$40.00, then they shall jointly share one membership.)

### **B. STAFF MEMBERS**

"Staff Members" shall be: (1) any non-management full-time or part-time paid employee of a Foundation radio station; or (2) any member of a Foundation radio station "Unpaid Staff Organization" or "Unpaid Staff Collective Bargaining Unit" which has been recognized by station management, or, if the station has neither such organization or bargaining unit, then any volunteer or unpaid staff member of a Foundation radio station who has worked for said radio station at least 60 hours in the preceding 3 months, exclusive of fundraising marathon telephone room volunteer time. No radio program shall have more than 3 unpaid staff members. Said volunteer work shall be performed under the supervision of the Foundation radio station management and shall not include volunteer work on committees of a Local Station Board. Radio station management employees and Foundation staff employees who are not employed at a Foundation radio station shall not qualify as Staff Members, however, such employees may qualify as Listener-Sponsor Members. by contributing the requisite minimum dollar amount as set forth in Section 1(A) of this Article of these Bylaws.

## Section 2: Term

A Listener-Sponsor membership term shall expire twelve (12) months from that date on which said Member: (A) contributed a minimum of \$35 to any Foundation radio station, or such minimum amount as the Board of Directors may from time to time decide; or (B) volunteered a minimum of 10 hours of service to any Foundation radio station. A Staff membership term shall expire: (A) On that date on which s/he failed to volunteer a minimum of 60 hours in the preceding 3-month period; or (B) upon termination of employment as a non-management employee of a Foundation radio station, as applicable. However, if the employment of a Local Station Board Member is terminated that Local Station Board Member shall be allowed to serve for the remainder of her/his term.

Membership terms shall be considered "rolling," and calculated forward from the last date of a Member's qualifying act. For example, if a Listener-Sponsor Member makes a \$35 contribution on January 1, 2003 and does not make any additional contribution or volunteer at least 10 hours within the following 12-month period, said Member's membership would expire on December 31, 2003. If, however, in the same example, said Member contributes at least \$35 on August 1, 2003, or volunteers for at least 10 hours, then his/her membership will not expire until July 31, 2004, provided no additional contribution or volunteer time is made after the August 1, 2003 contribution.

Grace Aaron Jan Goodman Akio Tanaka Mansoor Sabagh Ken Laufer Alex Steinberg Bill Crosier Robert Mark T. M. Scruggs