

AWG Sand Student Research Presentation Travel Award

This competitive award provides women geoscience students with support to present their research at the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America.

This travel award is named for Virginia (Ginny) Sand (1928–2007), an award-winning geoscience teacher and world traveler. Ginny graduated from Northwestern University with a degree in geology, and she spent three decades teaching geoscience at Kent State University after obtaining her MA. Her many activities supporting AWG included serving as editor of Gaea (1988–1991). Her travel destinations ranged from the Galapagos Islands to Iceland and, at the age of 76, included a journey to Antarctica.

The award is to be used to help defray travel, lodging, registration fee, and other expenses associated with the presentation of the awardee's research at the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America including but not exclusive to sessions sponsored by the National Association of Geoscience Teachers.

General Information

Award Amount: Two awards will be made each year for \$500 each. The top twenty applicants, including the two awardees, will be given a one-year membership to AWG.

Application Deadline: Applications must be submitted by August 10th each year.

Application Criteria and Procedures

Eligibility: The applicant must be presenting research results in oral or poster format at the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America. She must be the presenting author of the abstract. She must be currently enrolled in a BA, BS, Masters, or PhD program or the equivalent, and the major or field of specialization must be in geoscience or a closely related discipline.

Download Application: The application asks for contact information, academic history, meeting attendance history, meeting information, meeting abstract, and a statement of purpose. Please use the standard application form located on the AWG Awards and Scholarship webpage (MS Word format .doc).



Mailing Instructions: Send application to <u>office@awg.org</u>. Please write "Sand Award – your last name" in the subject line of the e-mail message.

Award Notification: The awardees will be notified by September 10th. Award funds will be paid upon proof of registration for the specified meeting.

Selection Criteria and Committee

Selection Criteria: The awardees will be selected on the basis of the science in the submitted abstract and the quality of the statement of purpose. Additional consideration may be given to meeting attendance history.

Selection Committee: The selection committee consists of five AWG members who have a wide background in both basic and applied aspects of the geosciences and who are interested in providing students with opportunities to share their research and advance their careers.

Other Information

The awardees will be asked to acknowledge support from the AWG Foundation in their presentations and to agree to be interviewed for a short article in Gaea.

Questions? Please contact Jean Crespi (jean.crespi@uconn.edu).

The Sand Student Research Presentation Travel Award is administered by the Association for Women Geoscientists and is funded through generous support from individual donors to the Association for Women Geoscientists Foundation.



Sand Student Research Presentation Travel Award Recipients		
2016	Mary Katherine Fidler	University of California, Santa Barbara
2016	Andrea Stevens	University of Arizona
2015	Kaydee Jo West	University of South Florida
2015	Rachel Cajigas	University of Arizona
2013/14	Not Awarded	Not Awarded
2012	Rosemary Bush	Northwestern University
2012	Hannah Aird	Duke University
2011	Corinne Myers	University of Kansas
2011	Katherine Castagno	Smith College
2010	Denise Levitan	Virginia Tech
2010	Denise Burchsted	University of Connecticut
2009	Nellie Olsen	Stanford University
2009	Xiaoming Liu	University of Maryland, College Park