

AWG Outstanding Educator Award

Established in 1988, the premier professional award of the Association of Women Geoscientists acknowledges the role of teachers and mentors in every woman geoscientist's life story. The Outstanding Educator Award honors well-established women college or university teachers who have played a significant role in the education and support of geoscientists within and beyond the classroom, in advancing the persistence of females and underrepresented minorities in geoscience careers, and in raising the profile of the geosciences by teaching to and for the broadest audience of students.

Review Criteria

The Outstanding Educator Award is a career award, and the committee will consider nominations for women educators with 20 or more years of service to the geoscience community. Beginning in 2016, nominations will be evaluated on the basis of exemplary contributions in *at least two* of the following three areas:

1. Mentoring

Outstanding impacts in mentoring may include, but are not limited to,

- Going "above and beyond" to support junior colleagues and students in advancing their careers and degrees
- Mentoring student participation in research, including service on undergraduate, master's, and Ph.D. committees and scientific abstracts and publications co-authored with students
- Initiating or contributing to programs devoted to helping women, underrepresented minorities, and first-generation students persist in the geosciences
- Leading courses, short courses, or workshops, and writing articles or publications (formal or informal) with the aim of encouraging career persistence and professional success in geoscience fields

2. Instruction and Curriculum

Outstanding impacts in instruction and curriculum may include, but are not limited to.

- Variety, innovation, or other value of the nominee's portfolio of courses, short courses, or workshops
- Publications on instruction and curriculum ranging from peer-reviewed articles demonstrating effectiveness of teaching innovations to publicallyavailable assignments and assessments
- Professional service, both on the nominee's campus and in professional societies, toward valuing and improving instruction and curriculum

3. Outreach

Outstanding impacts in outreach may include, but are not limited to,



- Significant service to or collaboration with institutions of informal science education (museums, nature and science centers, etc.)
- Presentations, short courses, or workshops; videos or other outreach materials; and articles or publications (formal or informal) explicitly aimed at communicating effectively about science concepts for a general audience (K-12 students or teachers, professionals in other fields, or the overall public)

Nomination Process

The deadline for nominations is April 1. Nomination packets must include a current vitae and at least six nomination letters from male or female current or former students and professional colleagues. Nominees are encouraged to address the review criteria within their letters. AWG is an international organization, and nominees and nominators may be residents of any nation (with the exception of sanctioned countries). Compile all documents in one PDF file and email your nomination as an attachment to the Chair of the AWG Outstanding Educator Award selection committee, Dr. Kelsey Bitting, at kbitting.awg@gmail.com. Awards are distributed at the award ceremony at the annual Geological Society of America meeting.

OEA Past Recipients

2016	Barbara Dutrow	Louisiana State University	
2015	Jo Laird	University of New Hampshire	
2014	Tekla Harms	Amherst University	
2013	Diane Smith	Trinity University	
2012	Jean Bahr	University of Wisconsin-Madison	
2011	Marcia Bjornerud	Lawrence University	
2010	Susan Lozier	Duke University	
2009	Anita Grunder	Oregon State University	
2008	Janet Herman	University of Virginia	
2007	Sue Rimmer	Southern Illinois Universit Carbondale	
2006	Dorothy Merritts	Franklin and Marshall College	
(continued on next page)			



2005	Molly Miller	Vanderbilt University
2004	Pat Manley	Middlebury College
2003	Patricia Kelley	University of North Carolina Wilmington
2002	Gail Ashley	Rutgers University
2001	Judith Schiebout	Louisiana State University
2000	Suzanne O'Connell	Wesleyan University and Trinity College
1999	Pamela Hallock Muller	University of South Florida
1998	Julia Ann (Jan) Tullis	Brown University
1997	Lisa M. Pratt	Indiana University
1996	Linda M. Abriola	University of Michigan Ann Arbor
1995	Mary E. Savina	Carleton College
1994	B. Charlotte Schreiber	Queen's College
1993	Margaret L. Delaney	University of California Santa-Cruz
1992	Marie Morisawa	SUNY-Binghamton
1991	Laurie Brown	University of Massachussetts
1990	Sharon Mosher	University of Texas at Austin
1989	no award given	
1988	Maria Luisa Crawford	Bryn Mawr College