During the 19th century, growing calls for political reform were met with state resistance and marked a crisis of legitimacy for both the government and the reform movements themselves. From a variety of collections, primary sources document the development of urban centers and the major restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution. Trial dates: 29 May - 28 July 2017
We are always trialling and expanding our eresources. This eresource is available on a temporary basis and we welcome your feedback .
The 19th century saw an explosion of maps of all varieties and as the Age of Cartography progressed, maps and travel became synonymous with scientific discovery, exploration, industrialization, imperialism, and literacy. From collections including British Library, National Archives (UK), Bryn Mawr University, and University of Alberta. Trial dates: 29 May - 28 July 2017
We are always trialling and expanding our eresources. This eresource is available on a temporary basis and we welcome your feedback .
Includes over 200,000 high-resolution, full color maps spanning hundreds of years that help researchers trace the "residential genealogy" of families and locations over time. For information on land ownership, historical structures, property boundaries, community growth, topography, and more. Trial dates: 29 May - 31 July 2017
We are always trialling and expanding our eresources. This eresource is available on a temporary basis and we welcome your feedback .
Films from the communist world reveal war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Spanning most of the 20th century, it covers the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. Trial dates: 24 May - 9 July 2017
We are always trialling and expanding our eresources. This eresource is available on a temporary basis and we welcome your feedback .
Gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) this is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
Features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection from the Bodleian Library, coves the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers.
Part of the Gale Collection containing primary source material from the long 19th century across a range of subject areas.
This collection focuses on the arts and includes playbills, scripts, scores, personal letters and papers, meeting minutes and financial records.
Explore the history of key commodities that changed the world through original source documents, images, data visualisation, interactive maps and more.
