

NATIONAL INDIGENOUS YOUTH PARLIAMENT

28 May - 3 June 2014

Program

DAY 1 Wednesday 28 May

Time	Session	Location
5.30pm	Members of the Youth Parliament arrive	Accommodation
6.00pm	Getting to know you	Accommodation
7.00pm	Dinner First day introductions	Accommodation
8.00pm	BriefingNIYP rules and expectationsParliamentary etiquette	Accommodation

DAY 2 Thursday 29 May

Time	Session	Location
8.50am	Group photograph in the Forecourt	Parliament House
9.30am	Introductory remarks by Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson, Special Minister of State	Theatre
9.35am	 Panel discussion – Representation and Leadership Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson, Special Minister of State The Hon Gary Gray AO MP, Shadow Special Minister of State 	Theatre
10.00am	Morning tea	Theatre Foyer

Time	Session	Location
10.30am	Media Panel – Press Gallery journalists	Theatre
11.30am	Meet with the Prime Minister's representative, Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion, Minister for Indigenous Affairs	Theatre
12.00pm	Lunch With Parliamentary mentors 	Mural Hall
2.00pm	Question Time	House of Representatives
3.00pm	Tour of Parliament House	Parliament House
3.45pm	Meet with the Hon Bill Shorten MP, Leader of the Opposition	Committee Room 1R1
4.00pm	Depart Parliament House	
4.30pm	Youth Parliament Leaders Electoral education Preferential elections Leadership activity Candidate speeches 	Accommodation
6.30pm	 Official Welcome Welcome to Country (Aunty Agnes Shea) Welcome by Mr Kevin Kitson, Acting Deputy Commissioner, Australian Electoral Commission Guest speaker – Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion, Minister for Indigenous Affairs 	Accommodation
7.00pm	Dinner	Accommodation
8.00pm	Election of Youth Parliament Leaders	Accommodation
8.30pm	Debate planning/ practice	Accommodation
9.30pm	Yarning Circle	Accommodation

DAY 3 Friday 30 May

Time	Session	Location
9.30am	MoAD learning program Exhibition workshops (Michael Cook and Marnti Warajanga) 	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
10.30am	Morning Tea	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
11.00am	MoAD learning program Zine Lounge (focus on 1967 Referendum) 	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
12.00pm	Lunch	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House

Time	Session	Location
1.00pm	Indigenous cultures, past and present	Parliamentary Triangle
	 Guest Speaker – Mr John Paul Janke, AIATSIS 	
2.00pm	Depart Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House	
3.00pm	Debate planning/ practice	Accommodation
4.45pm	Government House briefing	Accommodation
5.30pm	Government House reception	Government House
	 His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) 	
6.30pm	Depart from Government House	
7.30pm	Dinner	Accommodation
	 Guest speaker – Mr Ken Wyatt AM MP, Member for Hasluck 	
8.30pm	Debate preparation	Accommodation
10.00pm	Yarning Circle	Accommodation

DAY 4 Saturday 31 May

Time	Session	Location
9.00am	 Opening Ceremony in the House of Representatives Chamber Welcome to Country (Aunty Agnes Shea) Mr Tom Rogers, Acting Electoral Commissioner Ms Daryl Karp, Director, Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House Mr Ron Mell, Chief Executive Officer, YMCA Australia 	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
9.45am	Debating of Bills	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
10.45am	Morning Tea	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
11.15am	Debating of Bills	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
12.30pm	Lunch	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
1.30pm	Matter of Public Importance Constitutional recognition for Indigenous Australians 	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
3.30pm	Break	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House

Time	Session	Location
3.45pm	Adjournment Debate	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
6.00pm	Dinner	Accommodation
7.00pm	Debate preparation	Accommodation
8.30pm	Recreation	Accommodation
10.00pm	Yarning Circle	Accommodation

DAY 5 Sunday 1 June

Time	Session	Location
9:30am	Debating of Bills	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
10.45am	Morning Tea	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
11:15am	Debating of Bills	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
12:30pm	Lunch with Reconciliation Australia to celebrate National Reconciliation Week	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
2.00pm	Adjournment Debate	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
3.00pm	Break	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
3.15pm	Adjournment Debate	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
4:00pm	Closing CeremonyPresentation of Bills and speeches to Government's representative	Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House
5.00pm	Depart from the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House	
6:30pm	Dinner	Accommodation
7.30pm	Dance, music and storytelling with Wiradjuri Echoes	Accommodation
10:00pm	Yarning Circle	Accommodation

DAY 6 Monday 2 June

Time	Session	Location
	Opportunities for Participation and Leadership	Accommodation
9:00am	Mr Warren Mundine, Chair, Prime Minister's Indigenous Advisory Council	
9.30am	 Ms Kerrie Tim, Special Advisor for Indigenous Affairs, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet 	
10.00am	 Ms Anna Jovanovic, National RAP Manager, Reconciliation Australia 	
10.30am	Morning Tea	Accommodation
11.00am 11.30am	Mr Aden Ridgeway, Spokesperson, RECOGNISEMr Jeremy Donovan, Development Director, GenerationOne	
12.30pm	Lunch buffet, Stakeholder market-place	Accommodation
1.30pm	State-based workshop Leadership opportunities following NIYP 	Accommodation
2.30pm	Tour of Canberra	
6:00pm	Farewell Dinner Presentation of awards	Accommodation
7.00pm	Celebration event	Accommodation

DAY 7 Tuesday 3 June

Time	Session	Location
10.00am	Members of the Youth Parliament depart	Airport

Proudly supported by



