INTER-AMERICAN COURT OF HUMAN RIGHTS*

COURT DECISION 1/14

AUGUST 21, 2014

Clarification regarding the calculation of deadlines or time limits

Based on Article 60 of the American Convention on Human Rights; Articles 25(1) and 25(3) of the Statute of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights (hereinafter "the Court"); and Articles 1(3), 2, and 28 of the Court's Rules of Procedure, this decision by the Full Court is intended to clarify the following points in relation to the calculation of deadlines or time limits contemplated in the Rules of Procedure or those established by the Court in its decisions:

- 1. Deadlines expressed in days in proceedings before the Court shall be counted in natural or calendar days.
- 2. Calendar days shall be understood to mean all days, including working days, non-working days and holidays. Non-working days shall be understood to mean Saturdays, Sundays and official holidays at the headquarters of the Court in Costa Rica. The pertinent information concerning official holidays in Costa Rica will be posted on the Court's web site http://www.corteidh.or.cr/.
- 3. Deadlines or time limits shall be calculated beginning on the first working day following notification.
- 4. Any deadline or time limit that expires on a non-working day shall be considered to have expired on the next working day.
- 5. All deadlines or time limits expire at 24:00 hours according to Costa Rican time.
- 6. Each year the Court shall establish a recess period during the year-end holidays. The presentation of briefs whose deadlines expire within this period, may be deferred until the first working day after the expiry of said deadlines. This does not apply to provisional measures. The pertinent information on the year-end recess will be available on the Court's web site.

^{*} Judges Diego García-Sayán and Alberto Pérez Pérez excused themselves from considering this matter, due to a justification presented, and for reasons of *force majeure*, respectively.

Humberto Antonio Sierra Porto President

Roberto F. Caldas

Manuel E. Ventura Robles

Eduardo Vio Grossi

Eduardo Ferrer Mac-Gregor Poisot

Pablo Saavedra Alessandri Secretary

So ordered,

Humberto Antonio Sierra Porto

President

Pablo Saavedra Alessandri Secretary