## **Faculty Nomination Form**

## PRESIDENT'S AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE TO THE UNIVERSITY 2016

To honor those among us who have labored many years to advance excellence in higher education, the University will present the "Distinguished Faculty Service Award" to a faculty member who has dedicated twenty or more years to higher education at Towson University, or at Towson University and other colleges or universities. The recipient will be an individual who has made an important contribution through their teaching, scholarship, and participation in university affairs. The recipient of the award will receive \$2,500 and will make brief remarks at the winter commencement ceremony in December.

**Judging Criteria:** Among the factors to be considered are: (1) extraordinary effort as a teacher and/or scholar; (2) extraordinary service for twenty (20) or more years to the institution and/or profession; (3) a balance of achievement in teaching, scholarship, and service to the institution or profession; (4) evidence of direct impact and involvement with students.

The Faculty Development and Research Committee of the University Senate will review all nominations and submit three to the president. The president, on consultation with the representatives from the committee, will select the recipient of the award.

**NOMINATION INSTRUCTIONS:** A one-page, single-spaced supporting justification **must** be included with a nomination along with a detailed curriculum vita of the nominee. Any member of the Towson community may nominate a TU faculty member who meets the criteria. The person making the nomination must sign the form. Completed forms should be sent electronically to Dr. Janet DeLany, Dean of Graduate Studies, at jdelany@towson.edu. The deadline for nominations is Friday, October 21, 2016.

Nominee:	
Academic Rank:	
Department:	
_	
Signature: _	Date:

## **Previous Recipients**

Mary Catherine Kahl, History, 1982 Arthur Madden, Philosophy, 1983

Charles Haslup, "Special President's Award", 1984

Herbert Andrews, History, 1984 Dan Jones, English, 1985 John Mitchell, Art, 1986

Norman Sheets, Health Science, 1987 Dean Esslinger, History, 1988 George Hahn, English, 1989 Martha Siegel, Mathematics, 1990 Richard Gillespie, Theatre, 1991 Jenny Jochens, History, 1992 Frances Bond, Education, 1993 James Furukawa, Psychology, 1994 Arthur Blumberg, History, 1995 George Friedman, English, 1996

Michael O'Pecko, Modern Languages, 1998

Eleanor Hofstetter, Library, 1997

Michael O'Pecko, Modern Languages, 1998 Edward Holmes, Elementary Education, 1999

Joyce Currie Little, Computer & Info. Sciences, 2000

John Murungi, Philosophy, 2001 Jack Fruchtman, Political Science, 2002 George Georgiou, Economics, 2003 Richard Vatz, Communications, 2004 Laurence Boucher, Chemistry, 2005 Mark Whitman, History, 2006

Paul E. Jones, Inst. Leadership & Prof. Dev., 2007

Eric A. Belgrad, Political Science, 2008 Gloria A. Neubert, Secondary Education, 2009

Reynaldo Reyes, Music, 2010

Peter Lev, Electronic Media and Film, 2011

Tom Cascella, Theatre Arts, 2012 Tim Sullivan, Economics, 2013

Deborah Gartland, Special Education, 2014 Jay Zimmerman, Mathematics, 2015