BOYS FINALISTS

神子

Foster Hudsmith, White Station junior

Hudsmith — who was a runner of the year finalist in 2014 — ran 16:28 to place second at the Region 8-AAA meet. He then ran 16:55 at state, good for 35th place overall.



Sena Murray, Arlington junior

Another repeat finalist from last season, Murray finished second at the Region 7-AAA meet, clocking a time of 16:35 as the Tigers captured the team championship. Murray then went on to a 26th-place finish at state, crossing the line in 16:44.



Christopher Rayder, Houston junior

An all-metro performer last season, Rayder ran a strong 15:39 to win the Region 8-AAA championship while leading Houston to the team crown. At state, he ran 16:10, good for sixth place and making him the highest-placing male runner from Shelby County.



Chris Walls, Arlington junior

Walls was strong all year long for Arlington and highlighted his season with a Region 7-AAA championship in a time of 16:24. That effort helped the Tigers also win the team title and Walls then went on to state where his 16:56 landed him in 37th place.



Ray Wynne, St. Benedict junior

Wynne was the top Division 2 runner at state this year, finishing in ninth place in a time of 17:01. He was the only local runner in the top 10.



Nick Dwyer, CBHS

Dwyer molded the Brothers into a very strong team in 2014, as they finished second in the Division 2-AA team competition behind only a Brentwood Academy squad that placed four runners in the top five. It's the second coach of the year award for Dwyer, matching the one he won in 2007.



DIVISION 1 BOYS TEAM

Front row (from left) — Caleb Boucher, Collierville, junior; Jared Briant, Collierville, sophomore; Chandler Jenkins, Arlington, senior; Foster Hudsmith, White Station, junior; Luke McNair, Bartlett, junior; Chance Rone, Bolton, junior; Skyler Henson, Arlington, sophomore; Sena Murray, Arlington, junior; Jhon-Wes Walker, Covington, junior. Back row — Adam VanDeren, Collierville, junior; Ryan Redman, Arlington, junior; Sam Klyce, White Station, junior; Christopher Rayder, Houston, junior; Conner Lind, Houston, senior; Michael Waldrup, Houston, senior; Darrian Lockett, Germantown, junior; Joshua Topham, Germantown, junior; Chris Walls, Arlington, junior.



PRIVATE SCHOOLS BOYS TEAM

Front row (from left) — Matthew Roberts, CBHS, junior; Liam Gildea, CBHS, senior; Thomas Mann, St. George's, freshman; Zach Williams, St. George's, freshman; Zach Brazil, CBHS, junior; Jacob Ginn, ECS, senior; Sohan Pokorny-Yadav, Lausanne, freshman; Charlie Gilliland, MUS, junior; Jake Coppedge, St. Benedict, sophomore. Back row — Ray Wynne, St. Benedict, junior; James Basse, Briarcrest, junior; Clayton Sharp, Harding, sophomore; Kyle Edwards, CBHS, junior; Zach Hammack, CBHS, sophomore; Terrell Jackson, MUS, senior; Josh Hamlet, CBHS, senior; Gabriel Fuhrman, CBHS, senior; Benjamin Freeman, MUS, sophomore.

GIRLS FINALISTS

CROSSCOUNT

Ella Baran, Houston sophomore

Baran was the top local finisher at the prestigious Brooks Twilight Classic before leading the Mustangs to the Region 8-AAA championship, finishing second in a time of 19:13. She's a finalist for the second straight year and a repeat all-metro performer.



Skylar Boogerd, Arlington freshman

Boogerd ran well all season for the Tigers and culminated her year by capturing the Region 7-AAA championship in a time of 19:23. She then lowered her time to 19:15 at state, placing her eighth overall.



Sammy Brainard, Collierville senior

Another repeat finalist from last season, Brainard ran 19:26 to take third place at the Region 8-AAA meet after coming in second the year before. She then ran 19:37 at state, good for 14th place in a very competitive field.



Erica Fisher, Arlington freshman

Fisher burst onto the scene this season with a strong showing at the Region 7-AAA meet, coming in second in a time of 19:45. She then shaved 28 seconds off that effort for the state meet, placing ninth as Arlington came in eighth in the team standings.



Michelle Myers, Houston junior

A newcomer to cross country, Myers made a big splash in her first year. She ran 18:59 to capture the Region 8-AAA championship before taking third at state in 19:07. It was the highest finish for any Shelby-Metro runner this year, boy or girl.



Girls Coach of the Year

Chris Winter, Houston

Winter had the area's most dominant team in his first season, guiding the Mustangs to Region 8 and AAA state championships. The state title was Houston's first since 2002 and fourth in school history.



DIVISION 1 GIRLS TEAM

Front row (from left) — Emilee Hudsmith, White Station, senior; Marah Barnhart, Houston, senior; Rebecca Tankersley, Houston, senior; Anna Tankersley, Houston, sophomore; Shian Mallory, Houston, senior; Michelle Myers, Houston, junior; Maddie Lindemann, Houston, senior; Ella Baran, Houston, sophomore. Back row — Chloe Willis, White Station, sophomore; Chrissy Jensen, Bartlett, sophomore; Sammy Brainard, Collierville, senior; Skylar Boogerd, Arlington, freshman; Chloe Biggs, Arlington, freshman; Emily Churchwell, Arlington, senior; Amanda Leatherwood, Arlington, senior; Erica Fisher, Arlington, freshman. Not pictured — Abigail Bouve, Arlington, sophomore.



PRIVATE SCHOOLS GIRLS TEAM

Front row (from left) — Marisa Lewis, St. Agnes, freshman; Amanda Lammey, St. Agnes, senior; Maggie Schneider, St. Agnes, junior; Nora Tillmanns, Hutchison, freshman; Meghan Underwood, St. Benedict, sophomore. Back row — Ruth Wiggins, Briarcrest, senior; Holly Huffman, ECS, freshman; Catherine May, St. Benedict, junior; Maddie Rose, St. Benedict, senior; Caroline Farrell, St. George's, junior.

Winners will be announced at the Pepsi BOP awards ceremony, which will be held June 10, 2016, at the Duncan-Williams Performance Hall at Germantown Performing Arts Center

