

Professional Excellence Awards

The AWG Professional Excellence awards will go to women who, throughout their careers, have made distinguished contributions in each of the three following professional areas:

- Government/regulatory,
- Private industry/consulting and
- Academia/research.

Nominations will be solicited from the AWG membership at large. Professional excellence is broadly defined, and may include accomplishments such as:

- 1. Breadth and depth of professional accomplishments
- 2. Mentoring of other geoscience professionals
- 3. Outreach and service activities
- 4. Membership in professional societies

Nominees need not be members of AWG and those without memberships will receive a one-year professional membership with their award. Recognition will be made at the GSA Annual Meeting and other appropriate annual meetings, in GAEA and online enews. For nominations, please send the following items below as PDF electronic files to office@awg.org or mail to: Association for Women Geoscientists, 12000 N. Washington St., Suite 285, Thornton, Colorado 80241

- (1) Send a one to two page letter summarizing the nominee's most important accomplishments in professional areas that demonstrates multidisciplinary geologic accomplishments within their realm of expertise;
- (2) The nominee's CV
- (3) Two letters of support, which can be from non-members of AWG, with a maximum of five letters.
- (4) Specify which of the three awards for which you are applying

Nomination deadline: August 15th each year



Past Professional Excellence Award Winners		
2015	Government/Regulatory	Joan Gomberg
2015	Industry/Consulting	Janell Edman
2015	Academia/Research	Cathy Whitlock
2014	Government/Regulatory	Marie Marshall Garsjo
2014	Industry/Consulting	Nancy House
2014	Academia/Research	Gwendolyn Macpherson
2013	Government/Regulatory	Vicki Cowart
2013	Industry/Consulting	Jeanne Harris
2013	Academia/Research	Ellen Thomas