

AWG Takken Student Research Presentation Travel Award

This competitive award provides women geoscience students with support to present their research at a national or international professional geoscience meeting <u>other than</u> the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America.

This travel award is named for Suzanne Takken (1925–1997), an avid traveler and strong supporter of women in geoscience. Suzanne spent a long career in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, as a petroleum geologist for a major petroleum corporation and as a consulting geologist after her retirement. She served terms as president of AWG (1989–1990) and director of the AWG Foundation (1996–1997) and was awarded the AWG Distinguished Service Award in 1993. She especially enjoyed traveling to countries in Asia and the Pacific region.

The award is to be used to help defray travel, lodging, registration fee, and other expenses associated with the presentation of the awardee's research at a national or international professional geoscience meeting other than the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America.

General Information

Award Amount: Two awards will be made each year for \$500 each. The top twenty applicants, including the two awardees, will be given a one-year membership to AWG.

Application Deadline: Two competitions will be held each year. Applications for the first competition must be submitted by February 10th. Applications for the second competition must be submitted by August 10th.

Application Criteria and Procedures

Eligibility: The applicant must be presenting research results in oral or poster format at a national or international professional geoscience meeting other than the Annual Meeting of the Geological Society of America. She must be the presenting author of the abstract. She must be currently enrolled in a BA, BS, Masters, or PhD program or the equivalent, and the major or field of specialization must be in geoscience or a closely related discipline.



Download Application: The application asks for contact information, academic history, meeting attendance history, meeting information, meeting abstract, and a statement of purpose. Please use the standard application form, located on the AWG Scholarships and Awards website page (MS Word format .doc).

Mailing Instructions: Send application to <u>office@awg.org</u>. Please write "Takken Award – your last name" in the subject line of the e-mail message.

Award Notification: The awardee for the competition with the February 10th deadline will be notified by March 10th. The awardee for the competition with the August 10th deadline will be notified by September 10th. Award funds will be paid upon proof of registration for the specified meeting.

Selection Criteria and Committee

Selection Criteria: The awardee for each competition will be selected on the basis of the science in the submitted abstract and the quality of the statement of purpose. Additional consideration may be given to meeting attendance history.

Selection Committee: The selection committee consists of five AWG members who have a wide background in both basic and applied aspects of the geosciences and who are interested in providing students with opportunities to share their research and advance their careers.

Other Information

The awardees will be asked to acknowledge support from the AWG Foundation in their presentations and to agree to be interviewed for a short article in Gaea.

Questions? Please contact Jean Crespi (jean.crespi@uconn.edu).

The Takken Student Research Presentation Travel Award is administered by the Association for Women Geoscientists and is endowed through a generous bequest from Suzanne Takken to the Association for Women Geoscientists Foundation.



Takken Student Research Presentation Travel Award Recipients

2016	Grace Andrews	Northwestern University
2015	Wendy Kordesch	University of Southampton
2015	Sonal Khanolkar	Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
2014	Laura Reynolds	University of California, Santa Barbera
2014	Rebecca Fischer	University of Chicago
2013	Rebekah Levine	University of New Mexico
2013	Elizabeth Brown	University of South Florida
2012	Adrienne Kentner	University of Alaska, Fairbanks
2012	Devon Orme	University of Arizona
2011	Sarah Truebe	University of Arizona
2011	Sarah Reed	University of California, Berkeley
2010	Agathe Lisé-Pronovost	Institut des Sciences de la Mer de Rimouski
2010	Amy Chen	Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich
2009	Taryn Lopez	University of Alaska, Fairbanks

ı