

2011 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

DATE: Thursday 8th December 2011

TIME: 7:40 pm

VENUE: Graduate House – 220 Leicester Street, Carlton

MINUTES

1. Formal matters: election of a chair, apologies, proxies, quorum and entitlement to vote

1.1. Chair: It was resolved that Meredith Doig be elected Chair.

Moved: Lyn Allison Seconded: Diane Preston

1.2. Present:

133 Jason Ball

159 Diane Preston

218 Ken Wright

220 Lesley Vick

220 Ken Davidson

390 Meredith Doig

411 Lyn Allison

440 Wal Parker

545 Leonard Buller

677 Richard Perera

781 Tania Rook

968 Drew Harvey

A quorum of members being present, the AGM was officially declared open at 19:40.

1.3. In attendance: Colin Kline

1.4. Apologies:

697 Karl Willrath

229 David McKenzie

673 William and Barbara Darvall



1.5. Proxies

In favour of Meredith Doig:

388 David Freeman

352 Bodye Darvill

491 Ian Robinson

86 Rex Williams

457 Kevin Childs

315 Nigel Sinnot

191 John Perkins

697 Karl Willrath

2. Minutes of the previous AGM

The minutes of the previous AGM, held on Wednesday 17 November at the Tivoli Club, 291 Dandenong Road, Windsor, had been circulated and were available to those present. It was resolved that the minutes be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Lyn Allison Seconded: Jason Ball

3. **Business arising from the Minutes**

No business was brought up from the 2010 AGM Minutes.

4. Reports

4.1. President's report – see Appendix 1. The report was made available to those present.

Meredith drew attention to the creation this year of Reason Australia, a new national umbrella group of like-minded free thought organisations, with the RSA being one of its foundational members. Reason Australia aims to place a full time lobbyist in Canberra in the next five years.

Meredith emphasised the need for more young people to join the Committee, as the next generation needs to take on the corporate memory of the Rationalist Society of Australia in order to ensure the movement carries on. She noted the presence of Lesley Vick, former RSA President of 12 years, and Ken Davidson, The Australian Rationalist Editor for 8 years. She was also pleased to note the presence of members attending the AGM for the first time.

- 4.2. Secretary's report - Tania Rook noted that she had no further details to add to the President's report.
- 4.3. Treasurer's report See Appendix 2 for financial reports to 30 June 2011.

Ken Wright explained the RSA's Commonwealth bank account mentioned in the Balance Sheet is now closed. Also, Pledges Receivable (RAA) on the Balance Sheet (an amount of \$2,302.49) has been invoiced to the RAA, but not yet paid.

On the Profit & Loss statement, Ken explained the Journal Costs (\$500) was an item normally covered by the RAA, but for this year, had been paid by the RSA. The "Dues and



Subscriptions" was membership to the National Forum (Online Opinion). The "Support for Good Causes" included \$250 to student groups, \$500 as donation in support of Ron Williams High Court action on the Chaplaincy matter, \$550 to sponsor an essay contest with a university scientists group and \$549 as the entry fee for the World Humanist Conference in Oslo, attended by Meredith Doig (see Appendix 1 for her report on the conference).

It was resolved that the Treasurer's report be accepted.

Moved: Ken Davidson Seconded: Lyn Allison

5. Motions received with the required 21 days' notice

5.1. It was explained that since its inception in the 1920s the RSA had been an unincorporated association, albeit one with a constitution. In preparation for the incorporation proposed at this meeting, the RSA Committee had adopted the Model Rules related to the Associations Incorporation Act, making only minor modifications to suit the RSA specifically. The new Rules have been approved by the Department of Consumer Affairs, and have been made available to members.

It was resolved that the Rationalist Society of Australia incorporate under the Associations Incorporation Act 1981 (Vic) and become the Rationalist Society of Australia Incorporated.

Moved: Diane Preston Seconded: Lesley Vick

5.2. It was resolved that in recognition of his status as *President Emeritus*, Ian Robinson (member 491) be awarded a lifetime membership.

Moved: Tania Rook Seconded: Jason Ball

5.3. Amendments to the Objects of the RSA.

Two proposals to amend the Objects of the RSA Rules had been received, one from Karl Willrath and one from Diane Preston. To facilitate open discussion of these amendments, the Chair suspended meeting formalities. After a lengthy discussion, those present agreed that it was important all RSA members have the chance to consider the proposed amendments, and that therefore the Committee should circulate them and invite comment. Any amendments arising from this consultation could then come either to the next AGM or to a Special General Meeting convened specifically for this purpose.

6. Election of a Committee

It was resolved that the following people be elected to the RSA Committee until the next AGM:

Position	Nominee	Nominated By
President	Meredith Doig	Tania Rook
Vice President	Lyn Allison	Jason Ball



Secretary Tania Rook Ken Wright
Treasurer Ken Wright Tania Rook
General Counsel Diane Preston Jason Ball

In addition, there are two more potential new Committee members, Simon Taylor and Amelia Schmidt, both younger people. Simon has a particular interest in science and scepticism; Amelia has offered to develop the new form of the RSA newsletter.

7. Any other business

There was no other business.

8. Close of meeting

The meeting was officially declared closed at 20:40, and those present were invited to stay for refreshments.