BRICUP

British Committee for the Universities of Palestine

5 November 2013

The Rt. Hon. Baroness Ashton of Upholland High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy European Union

Dear Lady Ashton,

Reports are appearing with worrying frequency that European Union and Israeli officials are close to agreement on a weakening of the Commission's *Guidelines on the eligibility of Israeli entities and their activities in the territories occupied by Israel since June 1967 for grants, prizes and financial instruments funded by the EU from 2014 onwards.* We have been particularly disturbed to read in Israeli media that one of these changes removes the obligation of Israeli grant applicants to make a formal declaration that the activities for which they seek funds will not take place, in whole or in part, in the Occupied Territories; this leaves it up to the EU to try to identify breaches. Another change means that any European funds recipient needs only to have its HQ registered at an Israeli postcode to be eligible, even if the bulk of its activities are in the Occupied Territories.

Israeli settlements in the Occupied Territories are in breach of international law. The Guidelines are the first significant steps taken by the EU towards embodying recognition of that fact in concrete actions. To now deliberately engineer gaping loopholes in those Guidelines would be an act unworthy of both the European Union and the academic-scientific community it serves. We urge you to maintain the integrity of the Guidelines, as the first modest step in demonstrating to the Israeli government that their actions have consequences.

Yours sincerely

Etienne Balibar Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, Université Paris-Ouest (Nanterre) Anniversary Chair in Contemporary Philosophy, Kingston University, London

Professor Sir Patrick Bateson FRS Emeritus Professor of Ethology, Cambridge University

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:C:2013:205:0009:0011:EN:PDF

Please reply to: BRICUP, BM BRICUP, London WC1N3XX

email: <u>secretary@bricup.org.uk</u> <u>www.bricup.org.uk</u>

Professor Filippo Bracci Mathematics, Università di Roma "Tor Vergata" [ERC Starting Grant no. 277691 "HEVO"]

Professor Jean Bricmont Physics, Université Catholique de Louvain

Françoise Dreyfus Emeritus Professor of Political Science, Université Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne)

Laurence Dreyfus FBA
Professor of Music, University of Oxford

Ivar Ekeland Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada Foreign member of the Norwegian and the Austrian Academies Former President, Université Paris-Dauphine

Maria J Esteban Mathematician, Director of Research, CNRS and Université Paris-Dauphine

Professor Giorgio Gallo Computer Science, Università di Pisa

Professor Michael Harris Mathematics, Université Paris Diderot – Paris 7 [ERC Advanced Grant recipient, 2012-7]

Ted Honderich Grote Professor Emeritus of Philosophy of Mind and Logic University College London

Professor Richard Hudson FBA Linguistics, University College London

Professor Emeritus Marcel Francis Kahn former head of Rheumatology Department at Bichat Hospital, Paris

Professor Tom Kibble FRS
Physics, Imperial College London

Professor Malcolm H Levitt FRS Chemistry, University of Southampton Jean-Marc Lévy-Leblond Emeritus Professor, Physics, Université de Nice Editor of *Alliage: culture-science-technique*

Professor Paola Manduca Genetics, Università di Genoa

Dr. Mary Midgley Philosopher

Dr Elizabeth Picard Political Science Emeritus Director of Research, CNRS.

Professor Jan Pronk

Emeritus Professor International Institute of Social Studies, The Hague Former Minister for International Cooperation, the Netherlands.

Jacques Rancière Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, Université Paris VIII-Saint-Denis

Roshdi Rashed

Emeritus Director of Research, CNRS, and Honorary Professor, University of Tokyo Mathematician, philosopher and historian of science

Professor Steven Rose Professor of Biology and Neurobiology, Open University

Jonathan Rosenhead Emeritus Professor of Operational Research, London School of Economics

Univ.-Prof. Walter Schachermayer Mathematics, University of Vienna [ERC Advanced Grant recipient]

Professor Graeme Segal, FRS Emeritus Fellow, All Souls College, Oxford

Professor Tim Shallice FRS, FAE, FBA FMedSci Founding Director, University College London Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience

Gérard Toulouse Member Académie des Sciences Emeritus Director of Research at CNRS and Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris cc. Martin Schulz Máire Geoghegan-Quinn José Manuel Barroso Herman Van Rompuy