# INDEPENDENT EDUCATION UNION OF AUSTRALIA NSW/ACT BRANCH

# **ELECTION NOTICE**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

## Nominations are called for the following offices:

**President** 

Vice-Presidents (5) - one elected by/from each of the five membership sections identified in Rule 6(3).

**Financial Officers (2)** 

**Branch Secretary** 

**Branch Deputy Secretary** 

**Branch Assistant Secretaries (2)** 

**General Executive Members (10)** 

Delegates to Federal Council (16)\*

Written nominations, which comply with the registered rules of the Union, must reach me **by 4pm on Tuesday 6 August 2013.** Nominations cannot be withdrawn after this time.

Nomination forms are available from me, or from the website of the NSW Independent Education Union (www.ieu.asn.au) and the AEC (www.aec.gov.au).

Candidate Statements: Candidates may include with their nomination a statement not exceeding 200 words containing only the candidate's personal history and/or policy statement and a passport-sized photo. Statements which comply with the organisation's Rules will be distributed with the ballot papers. Statements must be submitted to the Returning Officer as a word document (.doc) either by email to nswelections@aec.gov.au or on a cd. The statement must reach my office or postal address by 4pm on 6 August 2013.

### ADDRESS FOR LODGING NOMINATIONS

By email A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures may be

scanned and submitted as a pdf file to <a href="mailto:nswelections@aec.gov.au">nswelections@aec.gov.au</a>.

By Post: Australian Electoral Commission, PO Box 496, Haymarket NSW 1239

By Hand: Australian Electoral Commission, Level 10, 59 Goulburn St, Haymarket NSW 2000

By Fax: 02 9375 6336

### **BALLOT**

A postal ballot, if required, will open on 2 September 2013 and will close at **12 noon on 24 September 2013. Members should notify the Union of any change of address.** 

NOTE: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Union or from me after the completion of the election.

Lee Jones Returning Officer Ph: 02 9375 6361



<sup>\*</sup> Note that the Federal Officers other than Federal Executive members are elected by and from the Federal Council members.