

DEPARTMENT OF AFRICANA STUDIES CHURCHILL HOUSE P.O. BOX 1904 PROVIDENCE, RI 02912

PHONE: 401.863.3137 FAX: 401.863.3559

MEMORANDUM

TO: Faculty Executive Committee

FROM: Corey D. B. Walker, Chair

Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees

DATE: October 15, 2010

RE: Annual Report

The Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees is charged to solicit nominations and recommendations from Brown faculty and students for suitably distinguished candidates to receive an honorary degree from Brown University. The committee begins its work with an organizational meeting late in the spring semester and then meets weekly beginning in the fall semester to accomplish its task. The committee annually receives between forty and one hundred nominations and undertakes a rigorous process of reviewing and evaluating the credentials and accomplishments of each nominee in arriving at its recommendation of between six and eight candidates. The committee prepares a written citation for each candidate detailing why the candidate should receive an honorary degree from Brown and presents them to the Board of Fellows at the fall meeting of the Corporation. The committee strives to submit a diverse list of candidates representing a broad spectrum of academic, civic, and professional backgrounds. The work of the committee is keep confidential and the identity of the degree recipients for this most distinguished honor is revealed prior to commencement.

Due to the change in the academic calendar for the current academic year, the committee began its fall program of work prior to the beginning of fall semester and concluded its work earlier than usual. The committee was composed of faculty members Douglas Anderson, Kenneth Miller, Ethan Pollock, Jonathan Reichner, Gregory Tucker, C. D. Wright and student members Reed Frye and Andrea Matthews. Leonard Moorehead ably and effectively staffed the committee. I commend my colleagues for diligently working on an expedited schedule this year in accomplishing the work of the committee and for submitting a slate of distinguished nominees to the Board of Fellows. At its final meeting, the committee elected Gregory Tucker as its next chair.