



Ref.: SCBD/SEL/OJ/JS/dm/76945 12 July 2011

NOTIFICATION

Decision VIII/5 on Article 8 (j) and related provisions: Advisory Selection Committee of the Voluntary Trust Fund – List of selected members

Dear Madam/Sir,

In decision VIII/5 D, on Mechanisms to promote the effective participation of indigenous and local communities in matters related to the objectives of Article 8(j) and related provisions, the Conference of the Parties adopted the criteria for the operation of the Voluntary Funding Mechanism for the participation of indigenous and local community representatives in the work of the Convention.

As per decision VIII/5 D, Annex, section A, paragraph (d), the criteria for the operation of the Fund provide that, in the selection of beneficiaries for the Fund, the Executive Secretary must consult, through electronic means, with an Advisory Selection Committee consisting of "seven representatives of indigenous and local communities nominated by indigenous and local communities from the seven geo-cultural regions recognized by the United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, as well as with the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties".

In Notification 2011-049, dated 4 March 2011, the Executive Secretary invited nominations for the selection of members of the Advisory Selection Committee. After due consideration of nominations received and in accordance with the selection criteria established in the above-mentioned decision, I am pleased to inform you that the seven members of the Advisory Selection Committee have been selected and will serve in their advisory capacity until after COP11. The list of selected representatives is attached to this notification for your information.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Ahmed Djoghlaf Executive Secretary

To: CBD Focal Points, indigenous and local community organizations and relevant stakeholders





MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY SELECTION COMMITTEE

North America

1. Ms Yvonne Vizina

The Pacific

2. Mr. Robert Lesley Malezer

Europe and the Arctic

3. Ms. Susanne Amalie Andersen

Eastern, Central Europe and the Caucasus

4. Mr. Rodion Sulyandziga

Latin America (including the Caribbean and Central America)

5. Ms. Hortencia Hidalgo Caceres

Asia

6. Mr. Gam A. Shimray

Africa

7. Ms. Edna Chepkorir Kaptoyo