

REGISTER OF INTERESTS OF COMMISSIONERS AND SENIOR MANAGERS

2009–10

This Register is to be updated at the beginning of each financial year, or when a significant change in circumstances arises. **Completion of the Register is mandatory**.

 Details of direct pecuniary interests, which members of the public might reasonably think could influence Commissioner / Senior Manager's judgement:

Professor Monica McWilliams (Chief Commissioner) - none

Mr Jonathan Bell – employed as a Senior Practitioner – Adolescent Social Work / Intensive Support Team, South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust; elected member of Ards Borough Council – Democratic Unionist Party; Chair of the Council Services Committee – Ards Borough Council; member of the Ards District Policing Partnership; Chair of the Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA) European Affairs Working Group; member of the South Eastern Education and Library Board (currently being run by Commissioners); member of the Board of Governors of Regent House School; member of the Board of Governors of Portaferry Integrated Primary School; member of the Board of Governors of Donaghadee Primary School; Researcher – Northern Ireland Assembly – Democratic Unionist Party; Director, Armagh Down Tourism Partnership; Director, East Border Region

Mr Thomas Duncan - none

Professor Colin Harvey – Head of the School of Law, Queen's University, Belfast

Mr Alan Henry - none

Ms Ann Hope – none

Mr Colm Larkin – member of Board of Economic Research Institute of Northern Ireland; part time lecturer in Smurfit Graduate Business School, University College Dublin; EU Affairs Consultant

Mr Eamonn O'Neill – elected member of Down District Council – Social Democratic and Labour Party; member of the Board of the Northern Ireland Housing Executive; member of Down District Policing Partnership; member of East Ireland Cross Border Committee

Ms Geraldine Rice MBE - none

Lady Daphne Trimble – employed by Norbrook Laboratories Ltd as a Parliamentary researcher for Lord Ballyedward and Lord Trimble

Dr Bill Smith (Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee) – self-employed consultant on governance and public policy issues; Independent Adviser to the Northern Ireland Local Government Association (NILGA); member of the Parliamentary Boundaries Commission

Mr Peter O'Neill (Chief Executive) - none

2. Details of indirect pecuniary interests, which members of the public might reasonably think could influence Commissioner / Senior Manager's judgement: (indirect pecuniary interests arise from connections with bodies which have a direct pecuniary interest or from being a business partner of, or being employed by, a person with such an interest)

Professor Monica McWilliams (Chief Commissioner) - none

Mr Jonathan Bell - none

Mr Thomas Duncan – none

Professor Colin Harvey – none

Mr Alan Henry – none

Ms Ann Hope - none

Mr Colm Larkin - none

Mr Eamonn O'Neill – Chair of Castlewellan Regeneration Limited

Ms Geraldine Rice MBE - none

Lady Daphne Trimble - none

Dr Bill Smith (Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee) – none

Mr Peter O'Neill (Chief Executive) - none

 Details of non-pecuniary interests, which members of the public might reasonably think could influence Commissioner / Senior Manager's judgement: (non-pecuniary interests include those arising from membership of clubs and other organisations)

Professor Monica McWilliams (Chief Commissioner) – Patron of CAUSE, a voluntary organisation for carers of people with mental ill health; Trustee of David Ervine Foundation

Mr Jonathan Bell – member of the Democratic Unionist Party; member of the Orange Order; member of the Royal Black Perceptory; member of the Apprentice Boys

Mr Thomas Duncan - none

Professor Colin Harvey – member of Amnesty International; member of the Committee on the Administration of Justice (CAJ); member of the British Institute of Human Rights

Mr Alan Henry - none

Ms Ann Hope - none

Mr Colm Larkin – member of Amnesty International; member of the Social Democratic and Labour Party; Chairman of the Social Democratic and Labour Party Dublin Support Group

Mr Eamonn O'Neill – member of Social Democratic and Labour Party; member of the Gaelic Athletic Association; Chairman of Castlewellan Regeneration Ltd

Ms Geraldine Rice MBE – elected Councillor Castlereagh Borough Council; Chair, Clanmil Housing Association, Director Clanmil Ireland; Director, Milbreen; Castlereagh Enterprises; Governor Lagan College

Lady Daphne Trimble – member of the Ulster Unionist Party; Chair of the Ulster Youth Orchestra; Board member of the Northern Ireland Memorial Fund; member of the Lisburn Seed Group (a voluntary organisation relating to people with learning disabilities in the Lisburn area); President of the Ulster Women's Unionist Council

Dr Bill Smith (Chair of the Audit and Risk Management

Committee) – Chair, High/Scope Ireland Advisory Board; Board member, Early Years; Chair, Voluntary Service Bureau; Treasurer, Educational Shakespeare Company

Mr Peter O'Neill (Chief Executive) – member of the National Union of Journalists (NUJ)

4. Details of the interests of close family members and persons living in the same household as the Commissioner / Senior Manager: (close family members include personal partners, parents, children (adult and minor), brothers, sisters and the personal partners of any of these)

Professor Monica McWilliams (Chief Commissioner) – husband is a Civil Servant with the Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure

Mr Jonathan Bell – wife is a nurse at Belfast City Hospital; one brother is Accident and Emergency Consultant within local hospitals; one brother employed by the Belfast Education and Library Board

Mr Thomas Duncan - none

Professor Colin Harvey – family members employed by the following: Equality Commission for Northern Ireland; Public Prosecution Service; Legal Services Directorate; Central Services Agency; and Trevor Smyth Solicitors

Mr Alan Henry - none

Ms Ann Hope - none

Mr Colm Larkin – wife is solicitor / legal affairs consultant, based in Dublin

Mr Eamonn O'Neill - none

Ms Geraldine Rice MBE - none

Lady Daphne Trimble – husband is a member of the House of Lords and a member of the Conservative Party

Dr Bill Smith (Chair of the Audit and Risk Management Committee) - none

Mr Peter O'Neill (Chief Executive) – wife is a primary school teacher at an integrated primary school in Belfast