State Coordinator

David Splinter (405) 370-3431 Splinter@okies.info

Claremore

Jimmy Cook (918) 342-3108 Cook@okies.info

Eastern OK

Matthew R. Jones Ind. for House 4 (866) 582-2336 Jones@okies.info

Edmond

Richard Prawdzienski Ind. for House 39 (405) 844-7577 Prawdz@okies.info

Norman

Elmer Zen Million Ind. for Lt. Governor (405) 366-7800 Million@okies.info

Northwestern OK

Michael Hammer Ind. for House 59 (580) 886-2436 Hammer@okies.info

Oklahoma City

James Branum Ind./Green for House 99 (405) 476-5620 Branum@okies.info

Tulsa

Bob Batterbee Ind. for House 74 (918) 230-8943 Batterbee@okies.info

Treasurer

Clark Duffe Libertarian for Sen. 41 (405) 760-3108 Duffe@okies.info



For immediate release Nov. 1st, 2006

Contact: David Splinter 405-370-3431 Okies@okies.info

Oklahoma Coalition of Independents Endorses Candidates Supporting Ballot Access Reform

The Oklahoma Coalition of Independents (OKIES), a group of Independents and third party members across Oklahoma, advocates open ballot access for third parties. OKIES also seeks to recruit candidates that support greater voter choice. Although members of OKIES have many different views on specific policies, we agree that a government accountable to the people is essential.

Oklahoma has the most restrictive ballot access laws in the nation. To recognize a new party 73,000 valid signatures needed to be collected this year. A more reasonable threshold is 5,000 signatures, the number required in Oklahoma from 1924 until 1974. When a new party does officially form, the current law removes that status if their presidential or gubernatorial candidate does not receive 10% of the vote, forcing parties to petition again and again.

Due to their support of ballot access reform, the Oklahoma Coalition of Independents endorses the following Republican and Democratic candidates:

Randy Brogdon (Republican) - Senate 34 (Owasso) Andrew Rice (Democrat) - Senate 46 (Oklahoma City) Jason Murphy (R) - House 31 (Guthrie) Ryan McMullen (D) - House 55 (Burns Flat) Ron Peterson (R) - House 80 (Broken Arrow) Jennifer Seal (D) - House 85 (Oklahoma City) Rae Weese (D) – House 98 (Broken Arrow)

OKIES also endorse the following Independent candidates:

Elmer Zen "E.Z." Million (Independent) – Lt. Governor Matthew R. Jones (I) - House 4 (Tahlequah) Michael Hammer (I) - House 59 (Canton) Bob Batterbee (I) – House 74 (Owasso) JM Branum (Ind./Green) – House 99 (Oklahoma City)

www.OKIES.info